I’m the Modern Day Gladys Kravitz

I am the modern day Glayds Kravitz, and I’m proud of it! In case you may not remember, she was the “nosy” neighbor, I prefer to say she was inquisitive, on Bewitched. She actually knew that Samantha was a witch and saw several clues and signs, yet no one believed her.

 

I’m still in the same apartment I’ve been in, for over five years now. We debated moving this Summer, but due to rent prices, cost of moving and the fact that we do, indeed, love our apartment, it was more feasible for us to stay. Granted, I know that means I am putting myself in a bad situation, in regards to my neighbor and management. I get it, no manager wants to hear any complaints. No one enjoys hearing about issues that need to be resolved, however, I also would not choose to be an apartment manager if I can’t handle “issues” or complaints. I naively hoped that with all that happened with the prior neighbor, specifically the fact that she was “squatting” here and stole from me and other neighbors, that things would improve. That it could have been a learning experience and for management to intervene and get the issues resolved in a timely fashion. I was wrong, dead wrong.

My current upstairs neighbor should never be living on a top floor apartment with wood floors. He enjoys his heeled shoes and loves to push furniture around all hours of the day and night. The worst of it is his love of using a floor buffer. At first, I thought he was vacuuming his wood floors, using the lowest setting. But, I could hear that he was going over the same spot, over and over again. My mom, who was visiting, thought it was a jet fighter flying above my apartment. I had written and later spoken to the owner, after giving up on management. The owner said all the right things, but nothing has been done since. My main point to him was to perhaps require that tenants put down rugs, to cut down noise. I can tell my neighbor doesn’t have rugs, because when he walks in his heeled shoes, there’s never a break. Again, I realize it may sound petty, but when a heavy man wears heeled shoes, it sounds very much like someone walking and hammering the floor, at the same time. The last “advice” we received from management, when we could not hear our own TV, because the neighbors crappy 70s music was blasting, was that we should just turn our TV up louder. No discussion with the neighbor about being more courteous, rather, let’s just ignore the issue and create an even bigger noise issue! Besides, when we turn our TV up, his music goes up. It’s a lose-lose battle.

I’ve recorded a couple of his noisier moments; one sounds like he’s sawing a tree upstairs, but it’s his floor buffer. He must have the shiniest floors in the building! My goal of talking to the owner was to get updates to the lease and request that people put down rugs and be more considerate. He agreed that they don’t do a good enough job with that, but I’m not going to hold my breath that actual changes will occur in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

